29 Aug 2014

New Student Government Association Officers Installed

New Student Government Association Officers Installed

The energy and excitement was on high in the Seby Jones Auditorium for the 2013-2014 installation ceremony for the student government association (SGA).

President Dianne Boardley Suber installed the 2013-2014 Saint Augustine’s University Student Body President Ashley Nelson. Nelson is a senior from Brooklyn, New York majoring in sociology.

“I am excited to have been selected as the student body president,” Nelson said. “All we [student government association] ask of you is to continue to support us. Let’s look to the future with high hopes.”

During her installation address, Nelson stated the SGA’s mission is to enhance the learning environment for the student body. She also provided SGA’s initiatives for the academic year which included political awareness, community service and health and wellness. At the beginning of the academic year, Nelson said that SGA registered 280 freshmen to vote and organized the Falcon Pep Rally.

The members of the 2013-2014 Student Government Association are as follows:

Ashley Nelson     President
Kamaya Jabari     Vice President
Justin Miller     Board of Trustees Representative

David Frasier     Senior Class President

Justin Williams     Senior Class Vice President

Jamonica Facyson Junior Class President

Jacques Griffin     Junior Class Vice President

DeAsia Lewis     Sophomore Class President

Cadine Bramwell     Sophomore Class Vice President

Kelvin Mitchell     Freshman Class President

Shirece Anthony     Freshman Class Vice President